Curricular Areas


Core Programs

Faculty will offer a number of programs aimed specifically at first year entering students, although continuing students are free to enroll. Core programs will provide orientation to Evergreen, work on basic college skills, and offer a chance to explore and start serious work on college-level subject matter. Successful programs will be repeated on a regular basis, with regular turnover of faculty, but opportunity for new programs will always be available. Faculty in some planning units may offer All Level programs which will admit up to 25% first year students. These programs are not a replacement for Core programs, but an opportunity for some first-year students to study in a mixed-level environment.

Planning Unit Offerings

A carefully planned set of programs will be offered by each planning unit, aimed at allowing students to acquire a strong background in the concepts, evidence and methods within one of the interdisciplinary specialties. We have tried to pick those areas where Evergreen can stand out from other institutions in the emphasis, organization and strength of its offerings. These are not majors; they will retain the interdisciplinary commitment of the institution while providing a range of specializations which will allow students to become competent in studies of their choice. Each planning unit will nominate a member to be planning unit coordinator for a two-year term beginning Fall quarter, 1996 (See Section 2.400 of the Faculty Handbook). The coordinator’s primary responsibility will be to work with faculty in the planning unit to develop curriculum, facilitate student advising in the planning unit, arranging for planning unit representation at college events, and editing catalog copy for the planning unit. To compensate for the additional work throughout the year, and to allow the coordinators to be active in catalog copy work, the coordinators will each be released from teaching spring quarter.

Off-campus Programs

There currently five off-campus sites: four tribal locations (Neah Bay, Port Gamble, Skokomish and Tahola), and Tacoma. These programs are designed primarily for placebound students beyond the traditional college age, most of whom have had some prior work experience beyond school. The programs are taught primarily by regular faculty assigned to Tacoma and the tribal program, and by those who rotate periodically from the Olympia campus.

Graduate Programs

There are three graduate programs: the Master of Public Administration which opened in 1980, the master of environmental Studies which opened in 1984 and Master in Teaching which opened in 1991.