Academic Deans

As deans, we evaluate faculty members, review student contracts, and work with other offices to support teaching and learning at the college.

The Academic Deans Office is available by telephone, email, or in-person, Monday - Friday: 10 am - 12:30 pm, 1 pm - 4 pm (except for holidays). Call (360) 867-6810 or email

We work closely with the Provost to set academic policy and work through daily concerns.

Evergreen’s academic structure is unique and especially designed to model the college values in collaboration and shared governance. We are all members of the faculty and we rotate into the deans positions from teaching for fixed three or four year terms. Instead of representing academic divisions, we are each responsible for specific administrative functions within our academics as a whole and we work as a team to support faculty and students.

It is a privilege to serve as deans of Evergreen—a service we have all taken on because we believe so firmly in the values of the college. We welcome your questions and comments—in person or by email.

  • Abir Biswas, Academic Dean, Olympia Undergraduate Studies
  • Lori Blewett, Academic Dean, Professional and Continuing Education
  • Stephen (Steff) Beck, Academic Dean, Summer, Evening and Weekend Studies, & Student Success
  • Rachel Hastings, Academic Dean, Faculty Hiring
  • Kevin Francis, Academic Dean, Graduate Studies
  • Greg Mullins, Instructional Support & Library and Media Services
  • Marcia Tate Arunga, Academic Dean, Evergreen Tacoma
  • John Caraher, Associate Dean, Faculty Development
  • Kristina Ackley, Associate Dean, Study Abroad, Individual Study, & Experiential Learning

Faculty Deadline Information

For the 2019-2020 academic year there are multiple deadlines concerning a variety of important opportunities and responsibilities for faculty.