board of trustees

Evergreen Officially Names New Leaders

The Evergreen State College Board of Trustees voted today to officially name Dr. John Carmichael as the college’s interim president, and Dr. Dexter Gordon as the college’s executive vice president.

The board approved a two-year contract with Carmichael as interim president at an annual salary of $305,400; they also approved a contract with Gordon as executive vice president with an annual salary of $250,000.

“We are thrilled to have two eminent leaders in these key roles,” said Board Chair Karen Fraser.

Evergreen’s Board of Trustees makes presidential appointment permanent

OLYMPIA – In a special meeting today, Thursday, July 7, The Evergreen State College’s Board of Trustees permanently appointed Dr. John Carmichael as college president with a contract through June 30, 2025. Carmichael was appointed interim president in June 2021. His salary will remain at the current level.  

Dr. Allyson Brooks named as new Board of Trustee for The Evergreen State College

OLYMPIA – Governor Jay Inslee has appointed Dr. Allyson Brooks to the Board of Trustees for The Evergreen State College

Brooks’ term as a trustee began February 7, 2022 and runs through September 2026.

“Washingtonians are fortunate to have Dr. Brooks as the State Historic Preservation Officer. No one better understands how to preserve the best of the past while adapting to the future, experience that is a welcome addition to the board,” said John Carmichael, President of The Evergreen State College. 

Kristopher Peters, Chair of Squaxin Island Tribe, named to The Evergreen State College Board of Trustees

OLYMPIA – Governor Jay Inslee makes a second historic appointment of a Tribal Chair to a college board by naming Kristopher Peters, Chair of the Squaxin Island Tribe, to The Evergreen State College Board of Trustees. Inslee named Suquamish Tribe Chair, Leonard Forsman, to the University of Washington’s Board of Regents last month. Evergreen’s Board of Trustees is an eight-member governing board that provides long-term strategic leadership, initiates policy and delegates authority to the college president.