Women in Pubic Leadership Panel

October 15, 2010

The Evergreen State College Welcomes Washington Women in Public Leadership for a Panel Presentation in The Library Underground at The Evergreen State College, Wednesday November 17, from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Guests at The Evergreen State College's Washington Women in Public Leadership Panel will include Senator Karen Fraser, Representative Kathy Haigh, Representative Lynn Kessler, and Dr. Thelma Jackson. The event is part of Evergreen's celebration of 100 years of Women's Right to Vote in Washington and is organized by the Evergreen Women's Suffrage Centennial Committee.


Senator Karen Fraser, Democrat Thurston County is the capital budget vice chair of the Senate Ways & Means Committee. She is on the Joint Legislative Oversight Committee on Trade Policy and the Governor's Committee on Transforming Washington's Budget. Senator Fraser has taken strong advocacy positions for education, the arts and for creating opportunities for employment.

A long-time advocate for education, Representative Kathy Haigh, Democrat Mason County has served on the Veterans and Military Affairs Committee as well as several commissions on public education funding. She currently serves as Chair of the House Education Appropriations Committee and as a member of the Legislative Audit and Review Committee.

Representative Lynn Kessler, Democrat District 24 currently serves as Majority Leader in the Washington House and as a member of the Ways and Means and Rules Committees. She has been appointed to the Open Government Task Force, Sunshine Committee, and The Washington State Arts Committee. She has a history of work in the nonprofit sector and has been active in the oversight of topics ranging from finance to international relations, higher education and health care as a legislator.

Dr. Thelma Jackson serves on the Governor's Committee on Transforming Washington's Budget. In addition she served on Task Forces and Advisory Councils for four former Governors of the State of Washington. Additionally, she has served as President of the Washington State School Directors Association and as Chairperson of the Washington State Legislative Ethics Board; and was formerly President of the Board of Trustees of The Evergreen State College.