Evergreen Board, Faculty and Staff Achievements Recognized

June 3, 2014

The Bud Koons Award, named for a long-serving member of Evergreen’s Board of Governors, went to Craig Chance ‘81, current board chair, for his decades of personal and philanthropic support for Evergreen.  Chemistry faculty member Dharshi Bopegedera won the Faculty Achievement Award in part for her stewardship of the annual Science Carnival, which has inspired generations of students to study science at Evergreen. 

The director of Evergreen’s Longhouse Education and Cultural Center, Tina Kuckkahn-Miller, received the Leadership Award for her accomplishments in expanding the indigenous arts on campus.   Sean Riley ’05 of Global Connections High School in Seattle won Distinguished Educator of the Year, while the family of recently deceased alum Joe Dear ’77 received the first Joseph Albert Dear Distinguished Alumni Award for his lifetime body of work as a public administrator and champion of Evergreen.   

“We are so proud of the extraordinary people who make Evergreen exceptional,” said President Purce.  “Their accomplishments have long-term effects on the college, benefitting students and the community.  Their success is our success.”