Time Tracking, Paid Sick Leave for Student and Hourly Employees
Student and temporary hourly employees accrue sick leave while working here. Learn about what this means for these employees and how the system works.
Paid sick leave for student and temporary hourly employees
Starting January 1, 2018, student and temporary hourly employees will begin to accrue Paid Sick Leave (PSL) under the Washington State Minimum Wage Requirement and Labor Standards Act. Those hired after January 1, 2018 will begin accruing PSL at the commencement of their employment.
- PSL will accrue at a rate of one (1) hour for every 40 hours worked, prorated consistent with the increments of the college’s timesheet system.
- Time worked that is reported in the timesheet system will be used to calculate an employee’s PSL accrual.
- A student or temporary hourly employee’s PSL balance, accrual and use will be displayed on their timesheet(s).
- The accrued PSL balance will be available to use for a qualifying reason starting on the pay date following the last day of the pay period of the employee’s certified timesheet.
If a student or temporary hourly employee worked and certified 20 hours on their Timesheet, then on the pay date following the last day of that pay period they will accrue 30 minutes (or one-half of an hour) of PSL. If a student or temporary hourly employee worked and certified 80 hours on a Timesheet, then on the following pay date they will have accrued 2 hours of PSL.
- At the end of the calendar year, unused PSL balances of forty (40) hours or less automatically carry forward into the new calendar year.
- When a student or temporary hourly worker’s employment ends, the unused PSL balance is kept on record and will be reinstated (less the amount that would not have been carried forward) if the employee is rehired within twelve (12) months of separation. Any remaining PSL balances at separation have no cash value.
PSL use which is recorded and certified on the timesheet will be compensated at the employee’s regular hourly rate of pay, and will be paid along with any wages owed for hours worked and certified on the timesheet. Used PSL hours will not count towards the calculation of overtime.
PSL Accrued can be used for scheduled shifts when the student or temporary hourly employee had been required to work, and for the following reasons:
- Mental and/or physical illness, injury or health condition for the employee and/or the employee’s “family member” as defined by RCW 49.46.210(2);
- Preventative medical and dental care for the employee and/or the employee’s “family member” as defined by RCW 49.46.210(2);
- Treatment of a mental and/or physical illness, injury, or health condition for the employee and/or the employee’s “family member” as defined by RCW 49.46.210(2);
- Absences that qualify for leave under Washington State’s Domestic Violence Leave Act (RCW 49.76.020);
- Absences because the employee’s place of business is closed by order of a public official for any health-related reason;
- Absences because the employee’s child’s school or place of care is closed by order of a public official for any health-related reason. An employer may not require, as a condition of an employee using PSL, that the employee search for or find a replacement worker to cover the hours during which the employee is on PSL.
Student and temporary hourly employees need to give reasonable notice to their supervisor about their intention to use PSL:
- Foreseeable (e.g., doctor's appointment) at least ten (10) days advance notice, or as early as possible before the first day PSL is used.
- Unforeseeable (e.g., emergency) as soon as possible before the required start of the employee’s shift, unless it is not practicable to do so.
Reasonable notice can be given through the timesheet system 30 days in advance using the calendar feature to submit a leave request in the timesheet. If there is need to give notice beyond 30 days notify the supervisor by other means of communication agreed upon ( email, phone call, text, etc.) and submit a request through the timesheet when the dates requested become available.
For absences exceeding three (3) consecutive scheduled working days during which employee is (or was) required to work, a supervisor may require verification that an employee’s use of PSL is for an authorized purpose. Verification may not result in an unreasonable burden or expense to the employee. Verification regarding use of PSL for an authorized purpose under the State of Washington Domestic Violence Leave Act must comply with those provisions. Please use the Employee Verification for Authorized Use of Sick Leave on the HRS forms and procedures website.
Any discrimination or retaliation against an employee for lawful exercise of PSL rights is not allowed. Employees will not be disciplined for the lawful use of paid sick leave.
For more information, please see the Paid Sick Leave (PSL) policy.
Time sheets and work certifications
We use a time and leave system to record hours worked when computing wages. This is in accordance with federal and state wage and hour laws, our Collective Bargaining Agreements and Time Keeping Procedure (PDF).
- Overtime eligible staff use my.evergreen.edu to record time worked (Work Certification—Permanent Employees).
- Students and temporary hourly employees use my.evergreen.edu to record time worked using timesheets (Time Sheet—Student and Temporary).
Check the Help Wiki for Time and Leave system instructions.