Cross Country News

NAIA Champs

November 22, 2008

KENOSHA, Wisc. - Annie Mullen (SO, Northbrook, IL) and Brian Rakestraw (Woodinville, WA) represented the Geoducks well at today's NAIA National Cross Country Championships held at the Wayne E. Dannehl course.

Mullen finished 112th in the women's 5k field of 327 runners on a cold day at the challenging but outstanding course with a time of 19:08.6. Mullen is the first Geoduck to represent the women's team at the National Championships in school history.

Mullen finished 7th among Cascade Conference athletes, an improvement from her 11th place finish at the Nov. 8th CCC Champs.

Alissa McKaig of Indiana Tech won the race in a course record time of 16:41.4.

In the men's race, Rakestraw moved up from around 120th place 10 minutes into the race to his eventual 83rd place overall. He finished with a time of 25:54.7 and like Mullen, improved on his conference standing.

Among CCC runners represented, Rakestraw was 9th. The Juniors placing is a nice improvement by an Evergreen athlete at these championships.

Aron Rono of Azusa Pacific repeated as champion, winning by 17 seconds in a time of 23:45.8 over a field of 331 runners.

Evergreen Senior Eric Jones (Vancouver, WA) was named to the 2008 Scholar Athlete Team for the second year in a row as announced yesterday.

For more Championship info visit the NAIA website